Our Beach

Sometimes we wake and know today the waves are going to be good.  You check out the cam, yup, they’re excellent yet break so close to the shore, maybe it’s time to boogie board instead. Chuckle to myself because really just want to catch the wave with my camera. Yup I’m a bit of a wus and really devoted to catching the moment on film. My dad would say; “Surfs up snots out” 

We are not alone, many visitors on our beach and it warms my heart seeing them, like us, totally enjoying the cleanse, the moment, the exhilaration.

Each inspired to search out this coastline for different reasons, each sharing a smile. We were strangers yet family. The moment was quite magical actually.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All of us were drawn to these shores for different reasons. To my left one cleanses, to my right affectionate embraces, behind me one harnesses the wind, before me a tenacious lover of the sea, resonates confidence. Every moment glimpsed, such a gift. An unrehearsed dance emerged as energy displaced unspeakable joy. Each living soul was being fueled.

Why art thou cast down, O my soul?  Psalm 42

My friend has been treating me to the sights of his town and time spent together is always the adventure. Each exploration reveals unexpectedly daily confirmations for an affluent future.  In my friends case, it’s to purchase his first sailboat! While walking off our dinner we came across a Cape Dory, all 40 ft of her. The captain invites us to come on board, another gift. Captain Pattie delights us with her passion for the sea, amazing resume and commitment to grace and beauty and the transformation of her vessel.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was happening again, destiny was revealing herself.

Actually his dream to live on the sea and visit new shores is exhilarating, he just needs to keep on encouraging me to get my sea legs. Seasickness is like morning sickness.  One you hopefully embrace a newborn, the other courage….as you let go the sight of land, which was once called home. Some of us are beached before our sea legs have grown, naked and scared we grasp onto whatever structure is left in our life.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. Eleanor Roosevelt

When I close my eyes I see green and smell fresh cut grass, see droplets on the blades and hear the clucking of a hen. I think this is my dream, to live off the land, grow and seed and share with my neighbors.

I’m in another time, another place, sipping tea from a delicate cup. My friend and I have totally different aspirations yet when together we are combustible. He sparks me and I him. We encourage each other and do the same to all we encounter. This friendship is a bit divine. Thank you Father for my precious friends.

“Think joy, talk joy, practice joy, share joy, saturate your mind with joy, and you will have the time of your life today and every day all your life.” Norman Vincent Peale

What helps you to surf the inevitable tides of life?

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

