Oddity

People seldom do what they believe in. They do what is convenient, then repent.          Bob Dylan

Happened innocently enough, in my new home, the slider doors entering the back yard, only exit, were almost impossible to open. So to Craigslist I went and found the man for the job. In a nano second he explained the difficulty; “Fused wheels, this door is dragging, need to totally replace them” and then his promise; “You will be able to close this door with one finger when I am done”.

Light suddenly streamed in as he was kneeling while expressing his diagnosis, and I didn’t hear a thing. Captivated on emerald eyes, all I could do was smile.  Yup this happenstance encounter would change my perception, forever.

A delicate knowing was caressing my senses and found myself whispering a prayer. Shortly after my daughter called and said; “Mom it’s time to move on”,  so maybe it wasn’t just a coincidence that this gentleman kept coming to my mind. 

And then a friends’s encouraging word came to me again ; “Brenda give the big guy a chance”, got the courage and thumbed a text; “come to breakfast with me, a lil  hole in the wall“, and this time he navigated right to my doorstep. Well not immediately, his first response was; “My life is uncomplicated and I want to keep it that way”  His thoughts sounded familiar. 

What happened next was, well, precious. He was so like no other. Could this be real, these feelings like no comparison? Was it because I was so fractured and the light wasn’t able to be centrifuged? And I breathed. Barely.    

Sharing about his shame, his losses in his life, and the joy of reinventing!  Yes I was seeing the reflection of ME as he surfed right into my heart.

When you’re living with brokenness, you doubt you will ever feel again. Gone gone gone are all the dreams, insulated in self doubt you dare to contemplate, yes, hope for a new day while closing the door to yesterday’s disillusionment.

Now the waves are crashing over you, true baptism is here. You shudder in disbelief and rapidly repent, streams of hot tears flood from you like a shower from heaven. And you utter; “Father forgive me for doubting you” The waves of love were crashing over me and unequivocally, deep was calling to deep.

A new chapter in my life and I believe it will be the best ever!

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oddity

  1. Myke Todd says:

    Great pictures… Very happy for you and the new chapter…

    You can surf? Wow!

    • Brenda says:

      Neophyte with this surfing stuff, however avoiding the shark bites …hehe Enjoying either way as you know my friend. Thank you for your comment…:) always make me smile!

  2. Jon-Mark says:

    A real page-turner 🙂 Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

