I See

Words escape me this month, rarely do I ferment. Embraced understanding  and it dawns on me, wisdom has become my best friend.

Willet above is guarding her nest. I’ve seen them eat small crabs, worms, clams, and other invertebrates from marshes along our coastlines in Florida, however not in this setting! Laying in these grasses made me smile. Didn’t know what would pop up and say hello! Friend photographer caught me in the element.

The routine was; wake at 0400 hrs, (had to have my cup of java), others would arise later and then meet at 0530 hrs for the trek at hand. We had the sweetest little cabins, propane showers, comfy queen sized mattress, lots of blankets, pillows and an inside toilet. Now this was my idea of the perfect wilderness adventure. Capturing these critters expressions was healing my soul.

First day we were  -3 Celcius, hiking boots white, frosted from the morning crispness we saw even the gentlest of breath became vapor. A small price to pay for the chance sighting of trumpeter swan and cygnet! Not only did we spy this but also a WHITE PELICAN!

Tho I layered for cold temperature my body trembled, the elements were penetrating. Each day handpicked, each day we stayed fixed on a goal, dispersed the fear, and found the best was yet to come!  It did, every single day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On these treks saw some fall flat on their face, others fought letting go of “stuff” and despite sentences ending on a negative, by the end of the week,  all were made strong in their own uniqueness. We became quite a team.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We were embracing the journey, a candle lit, toasts to the moment and scrumptious meals devoured at Elk Lake Lodge.  Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think such beauty could be contained. Actually it can’t and the reason why I blog

Had the coziest bed, and felt like a queen. No sharing covers and tho it’s not something I prefer, know embracing cleanliness and order has one waking refreshed! Would rather have my steps established,  so our journey would be a delight and a refreshing, especially to the Great I AM, the author of Love.

Every morning at 0415 hours the birds would start. Hearing such rejoicing is something I will never get use to, we can all learn from nature.

One evening while playing my flute on the back porch a MOOSE with fuzzy antlers walked out of the bush! Totally caught off guard, first thought,  TEXT, however we were off the grid, NO Internet NO Phone!

Yelling wouldn’t help either as my friends cabins were quite a distance away, and I didn’t want to spook him, so did the next best thing,  VIDEO TAPED WITH MY PHONE!! Gotta love technology!!

The next day we encountered a herd of moose, (females are called cows and actually that is exactly what I thought WAS in the road that morning!!) Again thankful for technology  and seized the moment!

The eye scapes this vaca were beyond comparison, beyond utterance. Clips make me smile only wish I could encapsulate the fresh air. Every night hit the pillow and was out, every morning adventure pulsated with a crimson glow and peaked into an organic syntheses of living. Each and every click of my shutter did it, captured heaven on earth. I was a witness, speechless and extremely full.

It was the last day and my co-horts were full, yet heard of this hidden lake, it would take quite a hike to get there not to mention a 4×4 just to get you to the pass at the bottom of the trail! I WAS GAME, so was my guide and dear friend and mentor, Ron Bielefeld,  his vision 20/20.

Years ago was seeded in a divine way; “this wilderness will change you forever”.  This statement was 100% correct. Viewing nature in its purest form, not rearranged or touched by human hands, I walked where my ancestors lived. Yes I conquered the mountain and made it to “Hidden Lake” . 

“But ask the animals what they think—let them teach you;
    let the birds tell you what’s going on.
Put your ear to the earth—learn the basics.  Job 7

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I See

  1. Anne Malsbary says:

    This is fantastic and describes the trip completely. Good job Brenda. I gave a presentation at the art c lub and showed your photograph of the booze with his tongue out and said, “when I feel blue or get down, I just look at this photo that my friend took and it makes me laugh and picks me up.

  2. Brenda says:

    Awwww MISS YOU

  3. upasna1987 says:

    OMG! Your pics gave me goose bumps. So perfect, I am glad I bumped into your space.

  4. Gisele Roy says:

    Your blog transports to a time and place yet traveled and makes one long to be there to smell the crisp air. Thank you for your kindness in sharing this.
    Gisele

  5. Your post and photos were inspiring. What a beautiful adventure. My kids and I have spent some time learning about birds and I get so excited to spot them when we are out and about camping and such. Nature can teach us so much.

    • Brenda says:

      So so true!!! Wrote a blog about the woodpecker once. GOD is amazing!! He must have had so much joy creating them………..AND US!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

