Portals of Understanding

One of my dearest friends snapped this shot of me. She was so patient. My truest desire at that moment was to lay flat and let the surf wash over me. Knowing this would make me unacceptable in her truck, I restrained.  After all I was her guest, every friendship is an invitation to discover yourself.

So I settled to capture a portion and it got me thinking how my passion is bridled, yet thankfully glimpses do escape. Wanton needs sojourned letting me discover the most illuminating paths and even culminate into organic unions.

Funny thing, no one warned me how difficult “two becoming as one”  was.  It’s a gift to be curious instead of reactive, kind instead of judgmental. Not everyone is equipped for marriage as it requires aptitude and grace. It’s where the miracle of “me” becomes “we“.

So why do humans screw up?  Maybe because our instincts have been deadened, making the simplistic, tortuous.

Did you know Osprey’s mate for life?  They will part and fend for themselves outside of breeding season yet find each other intuitively each year. During one of my trek’s discovered what I thought was an abandoned Osprey nest when suddenly a pair appeared flying overhead and a stick was presented and a question came to mind; “Are you ready to start rebuilding?”

She must have liked his stick for as we approached around the bend we witnessed copulation.  The message was received.

Viewing them brought me such JOY! Really the timing was incredible and his sky dance, breathtaking!  Adult male Ospreys arrive at their nesting territories a few days before the female ospreys. Soon after his arrival, the male begins sky-dancing over the nest. During this aerial display, he flies sharply up rapidly beating his wings and often carrying a fish or nesting material. At a height of several hundred feet the bird hovers with tail fanned and talons dangling.

Witnessed rebuilding, displays of courtship and territorial fidelity. Nature is so formidable and glimpses of this couple was actually infusing hope to this human. Their beauty was awe-inspiring.


Let go of your irrational fear. Learn how to work with this and challenge yourself to use this to your advantage.Osprey

As we continued on our jaunt met up with tortoise He was so large, and let me get close without running away. He was adorable!

The tortoise encounter held a special significance this day. Maybe because of my personal situation which was kinda like crawling on damp uncharted soil. The strong message was for me to meet the present with curiosity and compassion, rather then running away or being lost in it.  Looking up scan another stick flying overhead, yes rebuilding was genuinely present.

amen

This trek was profound. Touching the earth drummed a rhythm and portals of understanding were opening with each snap of the shutter. Wasn’t exactly certain of an outcome however knew gentle reflection would ward off any unkind gestures within my personal arena. My prayers were being answered.

A man’s judgment is best when he can forget himself and any reputation he may have acquired and concentrate wholly on making the right decisions. – Adm. Raymond A. Spruance

Observing Great Blue Heron I smile. It isn’t every day you can catch them sunning so vulnerably. It’s important in nature to let the sun shine on areas not readily exposed, killing deadly microbes and conversion of calcium and phosphorus from Vit D absorption, all from simple exposure to sunshine.  His bones were being strengthened

They say if a Great Blue Heron “visits you” then it is time to look deeper into aspects of your life that will bring out innate wisdom and show you how to become self-reliant. Know it’s time to ask myself simple questions; Are you grounding yourself regularly?  Gosh can the GBH strike and capture the most interesting meals! I feel sorry for this lil snapping turtle, now his life is over.

“Alternatively he could be teaching you how how to become comfortable in uncertain situations and to be watchful of opportunities to arise so that you can quickly grasp them and move on.”  –Heron

And there it was, suddenly I understood. Some friends, some lovers, mates have deep seeded issues of abandonment. And the closer a person is to you, the deeper their rejection can wound you. And then the thought; How do they treat animals? How do they treat their pets?

When I make a commitment to an animal, to a friend…..a SPOUSE, it’s for life. I saw the difference. I understood why it was so easy for them to castrate me from their lives, at a time when my need was at it’s greatest, my weakness was too profound. Now it meant walking down this path called life, alone.

Silly me, I wasn’t really alone!! Had someone walking next to me this jaunt!!! Guess during a moment of insanity, (rejection can do that)….I FORGOT! Joy always walks with us.                            

Took a deep breath and exhaled all the negativity. THIS is what walks in nature does!!! This is my church. And as I meandered down this one part of the trail I smiled. Saw them entering into a portal, and me?  Well I was following right behind.

“What lies behind you and what lies in front of you, pales in comparison to what lies inside of you” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Yup, everything was finally making sense. Transformation had begun, ahh think it’s time for another walk!

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Portals of Understanding

  1. Michael Todd says:

    You are seeing the world about you through introspective eyes. This works really well, incrementally.

    Love your pictures.

Leave a Reply

