Invigorating

Trekked around the Wetlands today, crisp weather in Florida. Sweet pair of white winged terns started fishing in front of me. WOW are they persistent. One must be if they want to survive in nature

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Even later I spied these two attempting to mate, though I don’t think she was in the mood to receive, looked like she just wanted to eat and was chirping out orders

Today there would be no leisurely driving, had to work for these shots. Roads had pot holes from the rain so I was a bit edgy knowing there was no metal between me and the snakes or gators. Cautiously crept in the grassy knoll areas.

They looked humongous, around 12 ft of slate absorbing the suns rays. One looked as if he was smiling, good, they weren’t hungry!

One spot seemed safe enough so after inspecting for fire ant mounds safely sat my butt down. First visitor was a fly by! Eagle !! He was so high up but his white tail gave him away. Was hoping he would come down for a bite however after upload see why he hadn’t, lunch was in his talons.

Then a dancing Snowy Egret skimmed on pass and a Tri Color heron attempted to walk on the waters too! Reflections were pristine and breathing in their beauty soothing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Delicate balance indeed and then the wood sinks, he looked a bit confused but meandered for a bit which was great! Snapped some more shots

IMG_2968

It didn’t take long for him to fly off. Think he felt to uncomfortable just standing in the middle, though secure, maybe instincts made him fly away from the unfamiliar, off the hidden branch.

The forceps of our minds are clumsy things and crush the truth a little in the course of taking hold of it. ~H.G. Wells

A couple pass me and converse, they’re from Missouri and were sharing about their visiting Eagles. Eagles, yes the proud display of our Nation. I use to say “Great Nation”. This present election saddens me. Maybe personal living has skewed my discernment. However know actions speak louder then words and I am sad. Just don’t like any of them so I am not going to vote.

Did you know Eagles steal??  Yup it’s true. They steal from the Osprey and even eat dead things. Not the Hawks tho, they announce their presence and eat only fresh meat. A red shouldered hawk delighted me with her presence. She was magnificent.

I sat right where she was in the tree, just calling out. Wondered what she was thinking. During this time a flock of Robins descended in the thick brush and started feasting on the berry’s. Such chatter and excitement. They must have been famished!

Love this spot, it’s full of life and the cool breeze makes my cheeks taught. Red shoulder hawk looks right through me, I know she can see me, I feel her presence and she is a good 400 meters away. She knows I am no threat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Look at the situation from a different perspective” HAWK

Only solace are times like this, reading, painting and of course contemplating the Holy Word. I agree, don’t think we are meant to be alone. Today I miss my husbands presence. Miss his hugs, miss our unions, miss his LAUGHTER. My CAG Yoshi laughs like him in the morning, sighs like him too. Absence is a perception.

Life sometimes doesn’t make sense and yet, look how simply they live. NATURE!!! Nature of man is complex because we make it this way.

Had one of my dearest friends recently state; “The only happiness you have or thing you get excited over are BIRDS ….you’ve extracted yourself from humans…yes you take beautiful photos of them but you can’t relax breathe and embrace human kindness or reality. Yet you run to wetlands beaches and woods and smile laugh and get the most pleasure from that.”

It kind of floored me. Guess I have changed and cock my head thinking, I relax in nature, embrace it’s kindness. Sure maybe would like to break bread with friends, definitely like nature’s fermented grapes and coffee beans in hot water!

Suppose I need to work on this, yet this picture she captured of me well, in all the world, this is where I am most at home, observing their nature, not the nature of man. Maybe it’s because I have been caring for the ill in the work arena since I was 16? My heart is tired.

Medicine is like drywall. Fake walls. Seeds a sense of physiological normalcy however without it you’re left with your true self. Your body can not lie, after all it’s where the demons hide.

Well you know what the cure for all of that is right? TOTAL IMMERSION!!! Lets go FISHING! I think I know how it’s done now, ready to take the plunge? Looks like FUN!

“Fishing provides that connection with the whole living world. It gives you the opportunity of being totally immersed, turning back into yourself in a good way. A form of meditation, some form of communion with levels of yourself that are deeper than the ordinary self.” – Ted Hughes

 

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Invigorating

  1. Michael Todd says:

    Robins are my favorite birds. A flock of Robins once saved my life. True story.
    Love what you said about drywall, probably because that is my line, sort of.
    Great presentation here, except for alligators. (Stop getting so close…)

Leave a Reply

