Who is Watching?

Every trek is an adventure and one doesn’t travel far to see nature reveal her beauty. Nope, really all you have to do is be still. This happened to me when concentrating on a Little Blue Jueve, zooming in waiting for the perfect light, this little guy suddenly honked and flew TOWARDS ME! Lowering my lens I saw the reason, Coyote was present and soon vanished after a 3 sec seductive stare which was gloriously captured!

doe

The grass was thick and so wild with life. Live for these moments so to share the mystery, the beauty, the immmuable story as nature reveals secrets.

Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished. ~Lao Tzu

This particular day met another photographer, they stopped and asked what I was filming, sharing my encounter they quickly retort; “I come here EVERY day and NEVER saw this”  and drove on, even before a verbal response.  Pondered this, well it’s true, sometimes I sit for hours but not always, no it’s kinda like fishing, if you never fished before well then how can I contrast?

Fisherman wait a long time in one area, investigating their pond, becoming one with their environment. Yup observe the Great Blue Heron, they can teach one how to consume just about anything!

I’ve sat with a Heron a few times, one day a few hours! Actually I don’t keep track of time, I get lost in it.

So how does a Heron Hunt?  Well the deathblow is delivered with a quick stab and the prey is swallowed whole and to be regurgitated later as a “hair ball” casting or pellet. The passing of pellets allows a bird to remove indigestible material from its stomach which is more like a ligament gland then a pouch; proventriculus. Had to look all that up after witnessing this!  Really? TURTLES?! Nature is fascinating!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A refreshing drink and onto the next meal, mother nature and her realm. It’s such an honor to witness, capture and share! Lately have been going out with my 500 mm and building up my muscles, my close friends know the cost, couldn’t hold that lens up for more then 2 min at a time. My mentor would say; “You’ll build up muscles” and while on these Trek’s it’s walking without a tripod.  Oh and no time to set up a digiscope, do you know how many action shots would be missed doing that?!

It takes practice, patience and thousands of images to upload. A photographer really doesn’t think about this as the import is multi-climatic. Sometimes you see something you totally weren’t expecting! This is why your camera comes with you wherever you go!! Have you ever seen a white peacock?

He saw me first and talk about neck wrenching! Went off the road for this shot and yesterday replaced my tire. It was worth it. Eventually this bird warmed up to my presence and came out on the grass actually VERY close and the moment was breathtaking.

During this particular shot felt another set of eyes on me, yes you do feel this. See why I felt it?

Different glasses to see and capture with aperture precision. Even signed a 2 year contract with AT+T last year, why? For 16 megapixel’s and waterproof up to 30 min of course! This is another tool for nature when she decides to come in real close, like this Sandhill Crane family! Here my sis Rachel and I were concentrating on a little Green Heron nest when I caught this flash to the left of me.  Preciousness beyond words, worth every penny of the 2 year contract!

These are the moments which refresh and invigorate, make you burst out with JOY! Sharing is the best part; recently had this post response to pictures shared on Facebook and the fact is, didn’t even know the truth about this, they pair up for LIFE!

I was just at some friends house for dinner and my friends have been observing a family of these birds for over 20 years……. They mate for life, I love that part, and i love, love, love the heart on their heads……. Wonderful shots Brenda Stevens, thanks for these wonderful photos of love and life and God’s creations……….”   Yup this is why I write and share!

Anything we love, we feel. The latent within rises flushing out all negativity. Such beauty to be seen if we just open the eyes of our soul. Spirit is willing however the flesh is weak? Some flesh is covered with waterproof feathers!

Others get wet so to feed the hungry cry’s, it’s as if they learn from each other and sushi is their dinner! Delicately balanced they spear the water and I’m thankful no gator on the scene. A fish is caught and another mouth is fed, very soon they will fend for themselves. How do they know when not to answer their calls of hunger?

Another sunset approaches, and it has been a glorious day. My body is tired, aches while readjusting my lens however can’t stop smiling knowing I witnessed a bit of heaven today.

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who is Watching?

  1. Myke Todd says:

    Quite the fascinating account. Getting to see your world through your eyes, quite the treat. I lived everything about this presentation… well, other than the coyote. They are always up to no good.

    • Brenda says:

      Thankyou Mr Todd!

      I understand your feeling about the Coyotes. My Aunt lost both her cats in Washington State and many neighbors their small dogs and one child 3 y/o playing in a driveway was attacked and dragged.

      Something does have to be done where they are overpopulated or else they will hunt ANYTHING for their brood.

  2. Gisele says:

    Thank you for sharing the journey. Eloquently stated what we feel and see and Ho through, yes even the aches. Totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

