Let’s take a walk . . .

It’s a rare moment when children can escape the rigors of a fast-paced work environment to be with their parents, when this happens it’s nothing less then a Victory!!  Especially when this means a Trek through the wilderness with zones of precision captured via a view finder.  And this is totally what we did!!  “Let’s take a walk” I said.

He knew he was in trouble when I stated:  “Humm last week there was a trail through these woods, the foliage must have grown over” He looks at me with the raised eyebrow like “Spock” from Star Trek and shares a thought; “In the days of old they would use machetes” I started chuckling as I fastened my lens hood on and off we went on a Trek towards the ocean.

Looking back at him he gives me that look like; “What the hell have I gotten into”,  which TOTALLY had me giggling as I had given him a camera to take his own pictures.  His response; “Mom, you know I don’t like taking pictures”. “Why?!” I retorted.

“Most photographers I have met are arrogant, pompous and rude” 

Now I was laughing like when my ex fell down the stairs in a cast (don’t ask)  and stat responded; “Well now is your opportunity to change all that Mr. Photographer” and ran up the trail. He captured the moment.

It wasn’t a long hike explaining to him this is what I do on my days off, explore areas just like this so to; “capture nature in action”.  My son knew this was my passion and respected my exuberance.  WOW what a concept!! However I almost peed myself taking the picture realizing he may have been wondering just what the heck he got into.

It was sheer joy sharing my romping ground with my son. After all his recent jaunt with nature was something to share! He definitely was initiated into the realm of communication He was recently charged by an alligator on a golf course!!

With permission I share his story; (in his very own words)

“so no one is going to believe this and I am ok with that. Between my apartment and nearest convenience store is a golf course. Seeing I was walking I decided to go through the course. On the way there, no problem peaceful lovely. On the way back however I encountered a rather large alligator. It screams its alligator scream at me and charges. An alligator screaming sounds like a car failing to start mixed with demons. As any brave man would do in this situation I jumped six feet in the air, and landed on its jaw, narrowly missing landing in its jaw. I then proceeded to punch it on the head about 5 times in 1 second. I guess that was fight over flight winning. Then I proceeded to run home looked back and the gator had the same idea it ran back into the water with a splash.”  “I will never cut through a golf course at night again.”

Well we cut through the woods and made it to the shore, it was breathtaking!

And he held a camera . . .

And well……what he captured took my breath away . . .
(achem…i helped him focus..that’s all)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yup we took a walk….

Choose your priorities and eliminate all distractions. -Hawk

 

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s take a walk . . .

  1. Mary Martha says:

    A treasured day for sure!

  2. Terri Warner says:

    Oh, this is a LOL a minute!!  Thanks for this rare moment with Ronnie.  He is a darling!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

