10 min Experimentation…give or take a few teardrops

Today is my Dad’s birthday. Oh I so miss him. He always made things “focus”,  so maybe this is why my eyesight is cloudy?  Time to pick up my camera and snap a few shots!

He didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it. ~Clarence Budington Kelland     

It’s a gorgeous day, blue blue sky, temp in the 70’s however so so sad inside. Anger is all around and silly precepts; how money should be spent, how one is to honor their parents, alive or dead. Everyone has an opinion, fact is, who asked you yours?

 “The deeds you do may be the only sermon some persons will hear today”
Francis of Assisi

Was thinking about these things while attempting to figure out my new camera. Nature was inviting and the view outstandingly gorgeous. Why did I need to capture these moments? Well to SHARE of course!! And then this lil yellow bird flew in. Sunshine in a tree, difficult to see as it blended with sheer sunlight! These moments were purifying. Allowing me to absorb their beauty, subconsciously it was cleansing me from negative thoughts.

Such loveliness and right in my backyard!  Of course I knew that, however powerful emotions can trap you sometimes. Yes, fine line, like sanity vs insanity, unless you choose to stay curiously and lovingly kind, you can find yourself playing ping pong with negative emotions. One must remember they have wings, the wings of choice and leave if they must for “higher ground”, healthy abodes for mind body and spirit!

Captured some amazing moments in nature. Refreshing indeed and as I felt the soft ground beneath my feet thought of that scripture about the seed planted in good soil, my prayer; let me be free from hardness of heart, let me discern the reason for the season and choose the most healthy path!  After all it is a delicate balance this thing called living.

See transcended light again and this time it’s more dragonfly’s and even a red one! Balancing my 500mm in one hand, burst mode on, it’s shooting time!  Love it when they come back to rest on the same spot!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Zooming in I become transfixed with the glorious reflections of webbed red! He must be the Cardinal of his species 🙂


Limited in his nature, infinite in his desires,
Man is a fallen god who remembers heaven.— Alphonse de Lamertine, 1819

Eyesight is a gift, vision a blessing and loving ESSENTIAL!! So much pain in this world yet so much beauty all around us!  A dichotomy indeed. We are all living and gifted so differently, so desperately needing respect and freedom of flight.

Caracara Hawk, endangered species

Lifting my glass up to you my Father in Heaven, how I miss you. This world is still as crazy as ever, and a bit crazier with you not in it. Miss you Dad, help me understand…amen

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 min Experimentation…give or take a few teardrops

  1. Terri Warner says:

    Brenda, your nature shots were so expressive as you dealt with each emotion as if a pen was writing on the camera lens.  I felt each ache!  

  2. Jo Heroux says:

    The photos are exquisite. The sadness, obvious. But the most glaringly beautiful thing here is your heart. Always open, always looking for sunshine and goodness amongst the dark and evil. Both exist, but only IF you allow them, can they influence your psyche. Our blessings far outweigh our trials, yet the sadness of loss must be acknowledged and experienced so as to permit all out love and appreciation of the beauty and good in our lives.

Leave a Reply

