On the Trail

My mom came to join me on a Trek. She is my biggest fan, reads all my blogs, asks to see my photos and that’s a mom for you!

When she reads this blog she will have the genuine knowledge of; “on the trail”, the sounds, experiencing the bug bites and atmospheric changes.  A component which is difficult to encapsulate with words.

It’s the reason I love photography. Catching the portals of heaven as they open, hearing the sacred messages and to think its all around us!

Yes it’s a gift to hear and to see. And it’s an honor to share, especially with the one who birthed me. After leaving the cosmos I became flesh in HER WOMB!  The thought boggles my mind. And then she breaks my contemplation with; “LOOK THERE’S ONE I SEE IT I SEE IT”  Almost missed it as it was set back deep in the brush. Funny looking creature this Sand Fidler crab!  We quietly got out of the car and I snapped away before it disappeared deep in his hole.

IMG_9265

Not until I caught this alien looking creature tho~! Fascinating indeed, the large second claw of the male fiddler crab is known as a secondary sexual characteristic and is used to attract a mate during the breeding season as well as to protect territories. The male crab will stand by the entrance to the burrow waving the larger claw in an effort to attract a female. DANG!

Found out that birds also like crabs. On the beach was a lone Yellow Night Heron who I was able to witness swallow this creature WHOLE! Who would think they were able to do such a feat!

These birds will hunt and right before striking wag their tail butts back and forth, almost like a cat! Then compress their beaks like a vice, chomping down then clip up and swallow!! Sometimes the crab won’t be fully dead and attempt to crawl back up and out their throats! NATURE IS FASCINATING! I understand the joy of photo journalists and it’s a privilege to observe and document such adventures! With my friends approval I share this experience with you all, she was able to film the moment in totality! It was worth almost getting heat stroke! 🙂

Night Heron With Crabby Patty Breakfast – 08/10/2014 from Betsy Stibal on Vimeo.

Yes it was a glorious day, we witnessed a great big Osprey fly by with a glistening fish in their talons.  Mom had said “lets sit here awhile” we were vising Pelican Island when this bird appeared and flew right past us.

Osprey’s only hunt and eat fish, unlike Hawks who will eat anything that moves! Understand the lovers of Ornithology; study of birds. Yes nature is amazing. Capturing glimpses like this A GIFT!

It’s difficult to close this blog, so many images to choose from however friends and family are waiting. It’s Labor Day and I don’t have to work!~ It’s time for celebrating with friends. However difficult to pull myself away from these images, and yes a JOY to be able to share with you all. Have a blessed day my friends and enjoy your families….and flight.

 

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Trail

  1. bstibal says:

    You really have a way with words. What a great blog.

  2. Terri Warner says:

    Fascinating, sheer beauty. You capture His hand in all the steps of how nature lives and balances it’s life with perfect beauty!! Great!

  3. naquaiya says:

    love your words and your pictures.

  4. Jo Heroux says:

    I’d never want to compete with your mom, but I’m a very close second on that BIG. FAN. list.
    I can’t wait to see your pics every time you post. Oshie, the dogs or the fabulous wildlife…love them all. ❤️ And you.

Leave a Reply

