Eyes

Yup you have to have it to see them,  vision is a gift,  understanding a virtue  and every time we walk in nature a moment is birthed and sometimes a message pierces our heart.

 “If I paint a wild horse, you might not see the horse… but surely you will see the wildness!”  ― Pablo Picasso

Been taken out of some environments which weren’t healthy for me. A friend recently stated; “You were sent for a reason” and it was about a totally different subject matter, however her words struck me and the proverbial chord was now echoing in my heart.  Was in the now,  not looking back or even concerned about tomorrow,  yes,  a miracle indeed!

When my father died,  my mom was exposed to some elements of the harshest kind and one totally understood her loss.  Death has a way of doing this and though we know it truly will touch every human being,  sometimes we live like it shan’t.

When the husband of my youth left me,  the shock was appalling.  Never visualized my life with out his physical presence next to me.  His sensuous nature was all consuming and he plunged deep,  who else could master such love? It’s then one learns the here and now is an illusion of sorts.  Every time I looked into my children’s eyes I saw the promise,  the hope, the transfiguration of a love so real,  a memory never to be stripped away. It didn’t matter about our own personal weaknesses for radical forgiveness was in motion

This last year has been interesting.  People have been inviting me to film with them, souls with similar passions, “angels on earth“.  These sisters and brothers with the same Love I have being in nature.  Some are full fledged Ornithologists,  humble and educating.  Others lonely and frail and one a mighty saint.  Each has their story,  each so translucent and wonderfully made. The human capacity to love is outrageous!

When on a trek in nature all your senses are ready to capture the moment. You are keenly observing every leaf, branch,  every ripple of water or shaking grass.  Patiently scanning you see,  even when it’s quite dark!

And you find, after the rain is when many seek the sun . . . so to be able to soar again

Three days after my dad died I had a dream. In that dream he appeared to me, he came out of a blizzard, white blinding crystallized snow, so vividly he came,  onto a back porch where I greeted him and he shared how he was being taught by Archbishop Sheen “how to draw a straight line” thinking it was an infantile statement  he grabbed my hand and there was a calligraphy pen in it, he dipped it in a black ink well, put his hand on top of mine to guide me, to also draw a straight line. Immediately I knew what the plumb line of righteousness was.

The here and there were a reflection of the whole, in an instant I knew what was meant by; “The eye through which I see God is the same eye through which God sees me; my eye and God’s eye are one eye, one seeing, one knowing, one love.”  ― Meister EckhartSermons of Meister Eckhart

Now to trust the Hand that is Guiding me.

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eyes

  1. Terri Warner says:

    Wise eyes!  Good photo’s as always.  It’s a joy to see and to read your ideas.  Keep it moving….

  2. Beautiful photography.

Leave a Reply

