What is Your Inspiration?

Ever watch families interact together?
Yesterday had the pleasure of partaking and actually fostering such an event. My husband’s childhood friend was in town celebrating Thanksgiving with his immediate family and shouted to us through the Internet ; “We are in your area come visit us” and this we did.

Since they were in our part of the woods of course the immediate thought was where can we take them? They were “shacked” up downtown Palm Beach with an amazing ocean view so the beach would NOT be our choice. My husband immediately suggested “Honey take them to where you always go”. This totally thrilled my heart, my husband actually verbalized a recognition, a sharing, voicing of a sacred place I visit often, sacred wilderness.  A place he would call; tromping in lala land. Yes he actually wanted to take HIS friends to my la la land 

Living has been so difficult for me especially since the passing of my Dad. I loved his fun loving self, that sparkle in his eye, his authenticity! If he didn’t care for you you would know it. He had a way of sizing up a situation and the blessing . . .when he screwed up; (like when he brought the fart machine at a fancy restaurant he didn’t want to be at) he would sincerely apologize, you knew it, it was from his heart.  So not having dad to talk to and then burying my husbands mom, and all the emotions tied with this, well death has a way of revealing the hidden things, hidden compartments in one’s soul. When the hidden is first revealed and you are close to “it”, the stagnation is pungent, it has a way of alienating. Nature has a way of making sense to all of this.  Witnessing their interactions somehow connects me to my Father.

So there we were meeting his friend and family on the seventh floor of their ocean front apartment and I saw the magnificent Osprey! I whipped out my 400 mm lens and shot away. Of course I had my camera on me, wasn’t about to leave it in the car. This thought cracks me up as I write this, certainly it must have looked strange to these new acquaintances as I whipped out my equipment,  however had to get the shot !!  (yes I had it hidden in my large purse) And the strangest thought of all, my husband actually wanted to share my sacred place, with all of them. He actually pulled out three binoculars and one camera and shared with them so they would be able to see.  It’s at this moment in time I recognize the man I fell in love with 13 years ago.

We saw some amazing wildlife despite the windy cloudy drizzly day! Nature appeared as always, God was on assignment and His wit brought me to silent tears the delicate balance of “less than . . more than” how we are all interconnected, how the winds of change can blow through you, yes actually refresh you.

I was inspired watching my husband interact with his friends, and they with the appreciation of nature. To see the parents point out to the children where animals were hiding. To hear their glee as they now saw too!!

And you know, I think I even glimpsed nature smiling . . .~

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What is Your Inspiration?

  1. I loved it! I can relate to the whole thing.

  2. Terri Warner says:

    Oh, I love la la land! � You got a great shot of that Osprey with his dinner. �That’s timing!!!!!!� You remind me of the ‘reporter’ who is always prepared with pad and pencil.

  3. I’ll try to write through my tears, for as you know, this will be my first Winter and Christmas without my dad. He had become my best friend, and we didn’t always agree, but we bungled through pretty well. Hearing about your dad (gotta love the restaurant caper!) makes me wish I had known him. This is, I think, the most precious and beautiful blog, so far. Heck, I’m still crying! ❤

Leave a Reply

