“A Suddenly” You could hear this human gasp! Yup the big “O” mg !

Awoke early this morn, sounds of birds were calling. One sound in particular made me smile “Birdy Birdy Birdy” and guess who flew from the tree right at me?!

Male Cardinal

Male Cardinal

It was a sign, nature was definitely calling. It was 7am, plenty of time before my hair appointment @11:30 so I was off to the Wetlands!

First stop would be Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge

It was beautiful watching the morning sunlight dance on dangling leaves and smelling the damp dirt. Must be the first on this boardwalk as 5 min of walking and counted eight moments when spiderwebs pulled tight against my face and arms.

Delicate strings, fabric of nature allowing me to penetrate its path

morning sunThe morning sun dancing off reflected moisture everywhere. The oneness of refractive boundaries were evident as angles of innocence crystallized intelligence.  A portal had opened and I was present to capture the moment, an honor indeed!

While making my way back to the car thought it odd I hadn’t seen one bird. It’s then, almost instinctively felt eyes on me. Look who was in the telephone pole beneath my parked car

and this black headed parrot gathering berries above!

4 16 022 4 16 024Nature was waking up and so was I.  It was quite humid this morning, sweat was pouring from my face already and again all was quiet along the path.  “Maybe I wouldn’t see any more today?”  During that moment of thought my sandal slid on a patch of wet leaves.  “Geesh” Almost landed, oddly this is when one realizes how vulnerable they are in nature.

My steps become deliberate, almost reverent from this point on. Round the bend and there is a fluff of white in the corner of my eye. This lil guy looked right at me, again so thankful I wasn’t considered a threat.

Least Bittern

Least Bittern

Again no sound but a flutter of wings and then these three landed right in front of me!

Black Bellied Plover’s

And then another joins along investigating the muck, this one had long yellow legs and I think it was Sandpiper, large back eyes and so cute. It’s around this time of admiration when the most amazing moment happened, a flock of pink landed right before my eyes!

A suddenly” you could hear this human gasp!  Yup the Big “O” MG!

Finally Roseate Spoonbills!

The first few shots were a blurr of pink as it took me awhile to focus and shoot. As I held my breath thoughts of; even if not one shot manifested the moment would stay with me a lifetime!   Have been wanting to see one of these up close ever since I lived in Florida.

Roseate Spoonbill

Never saw their eyes up close before, just amazing creatures.  Stood on a bench to get a better perspective, a few looked right at me.  So odd looking, they probably thought the same thing of me! It’s an honor to be able to share with you all

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well to say nature blessed me is an understatement. Just when I thought it couldn’t get much better, then this little bird stood up revealing pink legs and four little eggs!

Black Necked Stilt

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She spun all four eggs and then sat down to warm them again. Amazing nature. Doesn’t she have the most beautiful eyes ever?!

And I suppose a Trek in Florida’s wildlife wouldn’t be complete without spying a Gator or two and this is exactly what I saw…youngsters,  enjoying the morning sun, one wet and one dry! Had that same smile as “Mr George”, yup bet we know who Papa is!

4 16 373a

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Needless to say I missed my hair appointment

I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in. ~John Muir, 1913

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “A Suddenly” You could hear this human gasp! Yup the big “O” mg !

  1. Jo Heroux says:

    What I think is that you take amazing photographs and I am so honored to study them. As you know, I love birds and I would likely never see anything like these without your sharing of your talent with the lens.

    Just breathtaking. I find myself quiet as I search each photo as though I will cause them to fly away if I move too quickly.

  2. angelaparsonmyers says:

    Beautiful pix! As usual.

  3. Dolf says:

    Beautiful Brenda… 🙂

  4. Hello Brenda,
    Thanks for sharing these wonderful images that you captured so well, telling stories in nature.
    You first me in getting an outstanding photograph of Roseate Spoonbill. I am hoping to spend sometime in this beautiful area someday soon!

    • Brenda says:

      Michael….it was definitely a SUDDENLY, trust me I have been looking for two years! The moment will be remembered for a life time 🙂 Thanks for sharing my excitement!

  5. amyfromgi says:

    Such stunning photos – they take my breath away!

  6. Joyce says:

    That’s some walk. I never see such beautiful birds.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

  7. DawnTreader says:

    Marvellous shot that first one of the Cardinal (a bird we don’t have here in Sweden where I live). And the spoonbills too of course… Never seen those before!

    • Brenda says:

      WOW Dawn how shocking that is to me..no Cardinals in Sweden. Has anyone ever tried to “relocate” them? They flourish in spring and winters here! 🙂

  8. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of
    writing i thought i could also make comment due to
    this brilliant paragraph.

Leave a Reply

