May I never forget the Wisdom You shared with me today…

Nothing like an adventure in the wetlands of Florida to strike you into awe!

The flora and wildlife is engaging, inspiring, … sacred.

Sometimes I just sit, feel and listen, to the wind, the birds and it is usually best enjoyed with out the interruption of humans.

It takes great effort to block out people sometimes. They mean well as they briskly walk on the planks of a boardwalk. After all they chose this adventure, to breathe in nature and get their exercise. It’s a function, a disciplined effort on their part, and it bounces my camera like a little tap dance on the rail. I pause to look at them, offer a smile, yet their stares are miles away. Actually they just walked gruffly past this lil bird below!

forTREK4_filtered

They didn’t see him hiding in the weeds, gosh I almost missed him too. But maybe they are use to such sights.

Wakodahatchee 1 13 006

One day a photographer and I were chatting, he was telling me about his work as I was fixated on this little Green Heron. “Oh I already have one of those in my collection” he replied. As if it was just a common site. I had to stop and stare at him then. Oh dear, he was a collector and missing out on the most amazing reflected light on this beauty. He didn’t want to waste his time even looking. The moment made me sad.

Green Heron

Then I saw this guy. WOW he looked so vibrant and his blue eyes flashed a sort of wisdom my way, a refreshing of sorts! Preening himself in the bright sun, you could tell he felt good, looked so healthy and … clean! Definitely pristine!

wakoaclsday 036I looked at this little Ibis and whispered “thank you”.  He blinked those eyes of his and meandered on.

wakoaclsday 035_filtered

Then I hear a ruffling of feathers above me, looking up see this amazing balancing act, why it’s a cow bird! Did you know their moms just lay their eggs in other birds nests? Yup they allow another to adopt and raise their young!

wakoaclsday 157They were made that way, and you know what? They are adorable and another message is sent my way. ENJOY EVERY MOMENT, accept where you’re at …

wakoaclsday 162Let the wind toss your hair! Like our lil Tri Color Heron below!

wakoaclsday 106And let the Son expose your beauty! We are only here a short while..

Purple Gallinule

So why not soar?

Coopers Hawk

 

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May I never forget the Wisdom You shared with me today…

  1. veredit says:

    I love this post, because I share your opinion completely. The joy of observation and intensive recording is the reason why I take pictures. Not vice versa.Your work is brilliant.

    ganz liebe Grüße
    veredit

Leave a Reply

