Do you remember the first time you held a license and drove? Ahh my first was sweet…

1969-rambler-brown_fhdr

1969 RAMBLER

Still can remember being on the lot when dad and mom bought this car,  a darker chocolate brown.

It was as if it was chosen just for me, so  thankful they included me on the jaunt. Actually,  it’s the only family car I can recall driving in.

Dad never would let on, nor would I hear the word “can’t afford” and truly, I never ever felt “denied”. This would come later, much later when he died from cancer.

Dad taught me how to drive and Glenn, my HS sweetheart, sealed the deal. He took so much time teaching me and can still remember; “It’s like toothpaste, you have to squeeze the brakes”.  Funny, and it was my husband who taught me how to shift a standard!

One needs to save gas you know, the reason one shifts, not necessarily the only way to be transported. Now motorcycles are a great way to get around. Ever drive a motorcycle? This is something you learn solo. It was probably the most exciting licensed learning, that and the helicopter. These were bucket list adventures even before seeing the movie in 2007.

Funny, today I own an economical Prius…sounds like a golf cart!! LOL

1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

nevertheless, still legal and can drive anything if I have to. Just, my desires are different

Health is the greatest possession. Contentment is the greatest treasure. Confidence is the greatest friend. Non-being is the greatest joy.
Lao Tzu

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Do you remember the first time you held a license and drove? Ahh my first was sweet…

  1. Kathy says:

    You are simply amazing!! Wow, flying helicopters and riding motorcycles! Born to be wild aren’t you? LOL I simply loved your pictures and hearing all about your experiences. I am captivated and would love to ask you more….especially about flying the helicopter!! You rock!

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

  2. Jo says:

    How exciting! Flying a helicopter? Awesomeness.
    And I love the furbaby treating him/herself! LOL

  3. Beth says:

    A helicopter?!?! Holy crapanoly, woman! How cool is that?!

    Oh, and the motorcycle pic? Well, now! :O)

  4. gold price says:

    I remember the old cars of the mid 1950’s. My grandmother came into a bit of spare cash and bought my Dad his first car which was I think an Austin. My Dad’s brother was still single although about 30 and still lived at home with his Mam and Dad so therefore could afford one and taught my Dad to drive – up at Thornaby Aerodrome. I remember going up there with them and them trying to perform 3 point turns on the old runways. I remember Dad’s car – and those indicators that popped out and also the running boards on the sides of the car to make getting in and out easier I recall. We had happy times in those days back in Acklam – going down to Redcar for the day or out to the country – somewhere like Osmotherly or Stokesley and my Mam felt like a million dollars stepping into the car. However, a little while later my stepfather came along on the scene – and his car – wow it was a TR2 red sports car with a souped up engine or whatever that was and convertible. He stuck out in Middlesbrough driving it. He then got a Ford Anglia also a convertible. I think he was a bit ahead of his time for back then. thank you

  5. Pingback: Sobering Gift from the Sea | Fact vs Truth

Leave a Reply

