It’s raining … but the dogs need to go!

They so look forward to their walks! Their innate timing baffles me and it has nothing to do with needing to defaecate, its all about the “getting out”.  Time to find some plastic bags because we know it’s inevitable if we don’t take any, they indeed will poop!

This time we would take my camera too. So many times see the perfect shot but left the camera home. Today would be different….leaving prepared. Expectation is key.

It was a quiet walk, everyone in, hear music coming from a condo nearby; its a definite; “curl up, read a good book and sip in tea day”.  Almost regretting the whole idea, trekking in drizzle when we spy him; a RED DRAGONFLY, my very first!  It’s a “hold my breath time”!  So gray all around us nevertheless this vibrant flash of red enveloped our vision.  And to think I almost didn’t go! Have been waiting to see one of these my whole lifetime!

A gentle creeping in, zoom time and “snap” a twig announces my presence, nevertheless the trigger is hit, praying the shot was captured.  Could it be? It looks as if this little guy was holding onto a raindrop!

Such excitement, what a rush it was to see him, they’re rare around this area; Red Dragonfly – Crocothemis servilia  And then I see another flash of red on a plant nearby. The habitat was so inviting.

The beauty of nature all around us, yes, it’s the simple things like this which brings the greatest joy. Just look at these beautiful raindrops and a red dragonfly, holding on tight!

Drinking in all of the beauty God has bestowed upon us this day, EVERYDAY!!  All we have to do is explore the significance of the moment, like a visitation from a red dragonfly, even while walking the dogs. YES, everyday is a gift

When we recall the past, we usually find that it is the simplest things – not the great occasions – that in retrospect give off the greatest glow of happiness.
Bob Hope

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s raining … but the dogs need to go!

  1. phoenixritu says:

    This is simply gorgeous, what a capture!

  2. drchoneydew says:

    nature is amazing!! thanks Phoenix! need to get out there again ..maybe today!

  3. Cherie says:

    Congratulations – gorgeous photos! Holding those moments of joy is what life is about.

  4. Jo Heroux says:

    I am again, amazed by your luck and of course, your ability to find those catches! Beautiful shots and though I am not a dragon fly lover, your shots always makes me go “Ohhhh” how cool!
    You rocked this one, me friend! ♥

  5. Kathy says:

    I am just in aww or your pictures. They are amazing!! You must have one hell of a camera! WOW.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot,com

  6. Word Nerd says:

    I live the Bob Hope quote. So true!

  7. Joyce says:

    These shots are amazing! I can’t believe the little, red guy let you photograph him up close. The black line is even cooler.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

  8. amyfromgi says:

    Your thoughts and these photos are amazing. And all this time I thought you had a “super-dooper” fancy camera. Makes me think I could capture a few beauties of my own wiht my littel digital, but yours are so lovely, I think I’ll just keep stopping by to bask in their glory. (And I LOVE walking in the rain, so this post really hit a soft spot for me.)

  9. These closeups are very beautiful- so much detail and lovely colour:)

Leave a Reply

