It’s all about the Weather…the whether’s in Life

Wakodahatchee Wetlands, Delray Beach Fl

 

Recently was asked the rhetorical question; “What would you do different in High School?” and now this week “If I had my Life to live over..” and who comes to mind; Peggy Paternoster.  She once shared; “Brenda you always see the positive in everyone”. Funny, hadn’t seen that side of me but do remember, wouldn’t tolerate anyone making fun of people.

Recall boys spitting at one of my classmates from the bus yelling; “Tiny Tim”.  Disgusted me, their meanness. If it was me who had to walk to school, probably find another route or beg my parents to drive me every day, because every day these bastard boys would do this. I stood, turned and yelled; “Stop it, say if i spit on you everyday, she is my friend, just stop it”. Hadn’t planned it and maybe was a little violent in my pleading because a hush went through the noisy bus which seemed like eternity. My body violently shook. The next day one of the guys spoke another degrading comment, when he saw her walking but with an addition; “We better not say anything or Warner will wig out on us”. My heart was beating fast, feared them but my righteousness was bigger.

Would have I done it differently? Heck why go there?! What difference will it make right now? The past is the past, yet my conscious brought Peggy to mind and with this, pure gratitude rushes in and the question; what makes anyone change?

The spirit of man is entombed. Like Lazarus, whose voice will encourage you to rise and let the mummy cloth unravel? Nevertheless, even if you do resurrect from a past life,  is this fomented change months away from collapsing back to “once was”?  The key is to pinpoint where knowing let doubt in, shadowing your joy.

Yup this is where I want to live, seeing the best in everyone, cast off the negative and love life despite the petty terrorism within.  After all, even clouds can be beautiful, precipitation cleanses and aspersion just may stimulate ressurectional change. This type of transformation casts healing light. Reflections of “i wish i was when i wished i was what i am now” is never again and miracles a daily happenstance!

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It’s all about the Weather…the whether’s in Life

  1. Joyce says:

    It’s funny how the adult you knows what the child should do, but it’s so tough when you are that shy kid. Yes. Stand up for the weak. I actually did some things that kids dare not do. Believe me, it didn’t make my life any better. They still teased the little girl and thumbed their noses at me too; but, at least I know I tried. 🙂

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com/

  2. k~ says:

    When situations presented themselves to me (as a child) where someone who could not, or would not defend themselves against the torment of bullies, I stood up for them, but never for myself. Odd how that takes place. The transformation came much later, when I realized I was the only one who could/would take that stand, and then my wings unfurled and I began to fly. The heart is deep and wide of those who want to balance the Universal “mean” factor out. The journey’s are different for all of us… I’m glad you are one that looks for the positive.

  3. And we wouldn’t want you to be anyone but your positive, smiling self.

  4. daphne says:

    yes, brenda, life is full of experiences, good and bad… both form who we are and what we take from the experiences determine what we offer the world… so, like you, i wouldn’t change anything… and neither would i want to go back, or even want to watch it play out again….. i’m fine… i’ve lived.

  5. Jo says:

    It’s so much nicer and more pleasant to just be the positive one, isn’t it? I see the bad, but I choose to seek the good, it’s almost always there, somewhere. I love the sun and somehow have always thought that somehow my optimism is based on sunshine. Maybe comes from sunshine. Anyway, we share that bright and happy outlook. It’s a good thing! 🙂

  6. Anna says:

    I just love you! It’s a wonderful thing to be able see the positive in people, many find it easier to criticize…too many critics out there!

  7. Yeah, I know the past is the past. And it is buried. But, man, it’s hard to not replay tapes in your mind and wish you would have done things different. I admire your strength and resolve!

  8. tikulicious says:

    We learn each day and to see the good is seldom what people do. Your life sure must be enriched . Stay this way always.

    • drchoneydew says:

      Honestly…we remember how people make us feel..and i forgot this side of me after a tragic event in my life. It crippled my emotions for awhile…..writing helped me rediscover….the small still voice..and healing commenced

  9. Kathy says:

    I admire you for doing what you did. A lot of people wouldn’t have had the balls to do that I applaud you for it especially when you were young to boot. I may have the balls to do and say anything at 44, but when I was a kid I would have cowered and kept my head down and not drawn attention to myself.

    Kathy
    htttp://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

    • drchoneydew says:

      Remember making an effort to know her more after this incident, she was the kindest, talented sweetest girl. Her mom and her would raise violets…i still have them in my house and think of her every time i water them. All it takes is a little water..a little kindness ..right?

  10. Laila says:

    Awww..you are soo sweet! Considerate and caring.Kindness makes this world a much better place!:)

  11. Word Nerd says:

    You’re a sweet potato!

Leave a Reply

