“Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.” -Robert Frost

These were a few of the souls we lost and later discovered, the artist too, died in a tragic motorcycle accident. When asked to write about this time in my life…strangely think of this artist.

Crazy HS. Awesome friendships and groups and then I think of my teachers and who comes to mind, Mrs. Wollenburg who said; “Brenda, why are you wasting your talent on pompoms when I could use you on my basketball team?!” It was after gym class and I just made three half court “swooshes” and brought our team to victory. I just giggled but her comments seeded in my heart. I left the JV team shortly after and started training for the state meet; “You’re fast Brenda and I think you can do well”. Maybe I trained to late? When I got there my competitors got in these devices on the ground and launched out of them. But, even though I stood, I made it through a few heats! She had faith in me, it was a wonderful experience and launched me into a new avenue of thought. There was more to H.S. then Earth Science.

Mr Snell was one of my most interesting teachers. He was hard of hearing and even though I can’t for the life of me remember what we were tested on,  I do remember looking forward to his class and Seth. He was so shy and I remember talented yet strangely sad.  Joanne Borg had such a crush on Seth in eighth grade, she had claimed him for :her: and I remember thinking; “I wonder if he knows how precious he is?” for a fleeting moment, questioned what it would be like to know him better and then I met Glenn. Nothing was quite the same after that. His goal was Cornell, his Ivy league choice. I would make the ride to Ithaca many a time, even attended a few classes with him, I guess college would be the direction and Nursing the profession.

Mrs Lovrin, adored her. She instilled within me hope. She would pass out seeing the sight of blood and became a RN despite this. She spoke softly, was kind and had a sparkle in her eye which was compelling. She made me feel, whatever I chose to attain would become indeed a reality. Like her, if I could just recognize my weaknesses and prepare for them, back against the wall, slide down not crashing backwards or forward, I would awaken unscathed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I read this poem again tonight..it was written by Mary, her thoughts made me cry, nope haven’t forgotten you either. Gosh we had..have…awesome memories..and they are all very much alive

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.” -Robert Frost

  1. Jo says:

    Very nice look back. It’s very gentle and respectful. I like this side of you, too. ♥

  2. tikulicious says:

    Beautiful. I wasn’t sure if I should do the prompt but now I will 😉 .. thank you for inspiring .

  3. phoenixritu says:

    Some teachers are truly gifted. It is not just a job for them. It is a vocation, and they can truly inspire students to achieve. Loved this

  4. Laila says:

    Beautiful ! Guided by such awesome teachers,surely you too will be like them! 🙂

  5. Great memories and I love the slide show! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Gill Mojo says:

    A very touching piece, Brenda

  7. Kathy says:

    I loved reading about your memories!! It made me think of the special teachers that touched me. Awesome write.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

  8. Word Nerd says:

    The best teachers touch lives in ways they never imagine (and they likely never realize the impact they had).

  9. Beautiful blog! I enjoyed your screen show. A teacher has so much power. Let it all be for the good!

Leave a Reply

