“M” is for ..

blue MORPHO

Morphos live in the tropical forests of Latin America from Mexico to Colombia. Adults spend most of their time on the forest floor and in the lower shrubs and trees of the understory with their wings folded. However, when looking for mates, the blue morpho will fly through all layers of the forest.

Humans most commonly see morphos in clearings and along streams where their bright blue wings are most visible. Pilots flying over rainforests have even encountered large groups of blue morphos above the treetops, warming themselves in the sun. The blue morpho’s entire lifespan lasts only 115 days, which means most of their time is spent eating and reproducing.

About Brenda

"Brenda adores the birds. She is enchanted with their grace, their beauty. It was the birds and being out among them that gave her the peace she so needed and forged a new passion She uses a camera to capture those incredible moments, to savor them and share them with others. For her the camera was freedom. Brenda spent her life healing others, and dealing with incredible pain and despair. The world of birds and nature and photography was what she turned to in order to see the beautiful side of the world" Eric Curtis Cummings
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “M” is for ..

  1. That color blue is incredible!

  2. k~ says:

    I love these butterflies, and am just a little bit envious that you are close enough to get such fabulous shots… on the other hand… you share them with us, so I can enjoy them even though they are so far out of reach!

    I would love to travel to the tree where the (thinks for a moment) I could have sworn they were monarchs, but I don’t recall now, any way, the tree fills with blue butterflies and they go back every year. Have you ever seen it? I would love to be there to quietly take pics while they did their yearly meet and greet.
    “Blue Butterflies”

  3. Jo Heroux says:

    I have never seen a truly blue flutterby. How magnificent. I have seen a million or more of the ones native to my back yard and love having them light on me or my flowers and grace us with their delicate and incomaparable beauty. You are so lucky and such a great photographer. I so enjoy your flutterby shots. ♥
    Oh, and most of their time eating and reproducing….something to think about.

    • drchoneydew says:

      RIGHT????? well…i was fortunate to catch him, it was cold that morning..he was warming up…he did close shut a few seconds after this shot! Really didn’t even have time to frame the shot right……but was so THRILLED to capture him FINALLY

  4. Jenn says:

    I find they are really hard to photograph as they like to fold up their wings when they land…however-when their lifespan gets near the end–they open up more. I LOVE YOUR PHOTO ♥ Jenn

  5. drchoneydew says:

    :0) me 2!

  6. beverlydiehl says:

    Stunning. Butterflies are my “thing,” and after monarchs, blue morphos are my favorites.

  7. Blue is one of my favorite colors. Amazing what lives in the tropical forests, such beautiful creatures!

Leave a Reply

